MTB Exchange (UK) Ltd.
  MTB Exchange Board of Directors
Dr. Sultan Hafeez Rahman, Director
Dr. Sultan Hafeez Rahman is an Independent Director of Mutual Trust Bank Limited (MTB), and a reputed economist in the Asia Pacific region. He obtained his Ph.D and Master's from Stanford University and M.A in Economics from Vanderbilt University.

He started his professional career in the Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies (BIDS) in 1975 and has worked as Staff Economist, Research Fellow, and Senior Research Fellow there. Later, he served as a Director of the Board of Directors of the state-owned Agrani Bank from 1988 to 1991. He was also an adviser/consultant to the Ministries of Jute, Industry, Commerce and Finance and Planning.

Dr. Rahman Joined Asian Development Bank (ADB) in September 1992. He was the first South Asian to attain the position of Director General in ADB, which is the highest-level staff position for career professionals in the ADB, held by a Bangladeshi for the first time. He was involved in a number of landmark ADB operations, including:

• Resumption of ADB's operations in Vietnam in 1994 and Afghanistan in 2002-2003
• Initiating ADB's assistance to Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan in 1995-96
• ADB's stabilization and recovery assistance to Indonesia and South Korea during the 1997-98 Asian financial crisis

He also served as ADB's Country Director in Nepal during the peak of civil conflict from 2003-06. He also worked in Cambodia, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, India, Pakistan and Bangladesh as well as fourteen Pacific Island countries in the northern and southern Pacific Ocean region. He retired from ADB in June 2012.

Throughout his professional career of thirty-seven (37) years, Dr. Rahman has participated in and presented papers in many workshops, seminars and conferences around the world, many of which he organized and chaired. A reputed economist, Mr. Rahman's current research interests are in the areas of economic growth and inequality, green growth, macroeconomic policy, financial sector policy, and regional economic cooperation and integration.

MTBUK Board of Directors
  Mr. Hedayetullah, Chairman
  Mr. M. A. Rouf, JP
 Mr. Syed Manzur Elahi
  Mr. Rashed Ahmed Chowdhury
 Mr. Syed Mahbubur Rahman
Home | Download | Links | Web Mail
© Copyright. MTB Exchange (UK) Ltd. All rights reserved.